TSWA Class 5A all-state volleyball 2021

Fifth in a six-part series

Here is the Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State Volleyball Team for the 2021 season.

Lucas Lovejoy’s Averi Carlson, who was the MVP at the state tournament, is the player of the year. Carlson had 919 assists, 378 digs, 212 kills, 72 aces and 23 blocks.


Coach of the Year: Natalie Puckett, Lucas Lovejoy

Player of the Year: Averi Carlson, Lucas Lovejoy


Outside hitters: Rosemary Archer, Lucas Lovejoy; Janet Demarrais, Grapevine; Kyla Malone, Comal Canyon

Middle blockers: Hannah Gonzalez, Lucas Lovejoy; Brooklynn Burnside, Sulphur Springs; Reese Robins, Mansfield Timberview

Setter: Averi Carlson, Lucas Lovejoy

Libero: Ava Camacho, Lucas Lovejoy


Outside hitters: Ella Busey, Colleyville Heritage; Maya Duckworth, Birdville; Meagan Ledbetter, Azle

Middle blockers: Meagan Ledbetter, Azle; Mary Kate Preston, Manvel; Jaycee Kennedy, Texas High

Setter: Meagan Hawkins, Comal Canyon

Libero: Kiera Herron, College Station


Outside hitters: Alea Lastinger, Grapevine; Devyn Lewis, Manvel; Currie Marusak, Amarillo

Middle blockers: Killian Armstrong, Midlothian; Mahogani Wilson, Marshall; Kelby Coutee, Lufkin

Setter: Morgan Howard, Colleyville Heritage

Libero: Missy Varni, Granbury


Outside hitters: Kenna Buchanan, Midlothian; Makenna Miller, Justin Northwest; Lyric Jordan, Manvel; Bella Cherry, Texas High; Riley Newton, College Station; Sydney Kuzma, Gregory-Portland; Maegan Lacy, Wichita Falls Rider; Vivian Parker, Aledo; Kate Alex, Cedar Park; Ana De La Garza, College Station; Ally Scheidle, Tivy; Belle Davis, Burleson; Bryanna Rosario, Burleson Centennial; Brooke Bentke, Brenham; Brianna Converse, Longview; Carmen Chatman, Pine Tree; Ayden McDermott, Hallsville; Julia Anguiano, Corpus Christi Veterans Memorial; Ariana Calder, Corpus Christi Veterans Memorial’ Madilynn Cantu, Moody; Lauren Fuller, Flour Bluff; Katy Geurin, Flour Bluff; Madison Kilgore, Gregory-Portland; Sadie Portmann, Wichita Falls Rider

Middle blockers: Maddie Frank, Aledo; Emery Goerig, College Station; Lainee Roberts, Cedar Park; Jakayla Morrow, Longview, Jalen Scroggins, Pine Tree; Alexis Lusk, Lubbock Monterey; Maggie Croft, Flour Bluff

Setters: Libby Flores, Lufkin; Kenedy Massie, Manvel; Mattie Gantt, Aledo; Lauren Pyle, Hallsville; J.D. Moffitt, Amarillo; Cameron Chamberlain, Wichita Falls Rider; Ella Davis, Grapevine; Canyen Rodriguez, Gregory-Portland; Harlie Gallaspy, Flour Bluff

Liberos: Helen Hood, Grapevine; Jamaya Davis, Pine Tree; Jenna McMichael, Midlothian; Taylor Borden, Gregory-Portland; Isabella Emery, Marshall; Macie Nelson, Hallsville; Alyssa Rojo, Northwest; Bea Angeles, Manvel; Sydney Engel, Grapevine; Makenna Dillow, Azle


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s